Wednesday, November 14, 2007

The Results are In (2)

Spent 3 hours with my new orthopedic doctor. I am much more comfortable with his advice and recommendations (especially since they are exactly what Dave Badger recommended as well). Looks like I'm in for surgery after the first of the year (since the supply of donor tendons is short due to the 'end of the year' rush to avoid deductables). So I'll have my leg straight for about a month -- which means that I will not be able to drive (UGH!!!!) and who knows what else. I am a bit concerned since Emily needs to go on a visit to SF and I might need to fly to Quincy, IL for an interview (neither of which is easy to do with a leg that isn't allowed to bend). So, we'll see.

Anyway, I'm not looking forward to it, but I suppose it's for the best (in the long run).

3 comments:

Sharene said...

At least now, the surgery is othroscopic and not a open up your whole let, thing. Stu got used to the soft cast, pretty well.
I'm also glad Dave had the same idea. I trust him...He is a good friend, and he would never lead you "astray"...!

Kristen said...

So, how are you going to survive without driving? Is Amy going to be your chauffer? Maybe if you have to fly, you can sit on the aisle and stick your leg out so everyone can trip when they walk past. But, then, that won't work that well because of the cart. Getting hit in a leg that just had surgery with a beverage cart would be a tad uncomfortable. But hey, you could be one of those cool people and get a ride in one of those nifty golf cart things at the airport. That would make it all worth it, right? Well, maybe you can just put off flying until after you're healed. But, good luck with it all. I'm sure it'll be a good experience and you'll probably have lots of fun stories to tell...! :)

Sharene said...

Ha! Great word pictures, Kristen!!!!I was laughing thoughout!But anyway, you'd be surprised how NICE the airline people can be for someone who is in a cast. They could wheel you onto the plane in a wheel chair- bet you get priority boarding...
they have cars now with hand controls. (Hey, I have a bunch of grandchildren here, and the day is jsut winding down. That's why I'm going on and on!!!)
Have a good weekend!